Video: A Flipped-Workshop Mini Lesson

I’ve shared the idea of “flipped” mini lessons in a previous blog post and on Choice Literacy. It’s completely changed my classroom for the better. Here’s an example of what I mean by creating a mini-lesson that allows you to start reading/writing workshop at home. Since this is simply a video version, you won’t be able to experience the interactive part but use your imagination! Imagine that because of this lesson, the teacher can immediately make decisions of who they need to work with BEFORE they come to class the next day. Meanwhile, if a student is confused, they can rewind and watch the teacher model the strategy over and over again. Furthermore, students gain an extra few minutes to learn from their teacher AND peers each day.

It took me awhile to get used to making these lessons, but there’s no doubt that my lessons feel much more clear, concise, and effective!

This particular lesson was created on the TouchCast app. I personally love TouchCast but don’t for a second think that this is the only digital tool you can use.  I recently discovered that Nearpod might work too. I’m eager to try it out. As long as the student can interact with the lesson, learn from peers, and provide formative information to the teacher, it’s golden!

To get the full experience, try my real lesson out yourself using the free TouchCast app. Simply follow these 3 steps.

1. Open Touchcast app and click on “Touch Side”

2. Click on magnifying glass icon and search for “halenetwork” (no spaces)

3. Click on the lesson titled “Nonfiction: Author is trying to say”

Feel free to explore and post on the Lino board. Have fun!

